top of page
  • Province Announces Restrictions During Wildfires

    30 May 2023 8:04 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Please be advised of the following press release from the Province of Nova Scotia: 


    As fire crews battle wildfires in Nova Scotia, the Province is announcing measures to prevent more from starting.

    Tory Rushton, Minister of Natural Resources and Renewables, announced that travel and activities in the woods are restricted as of 4 p.m. today, May 30.

    “Safety is our top priority,” said Minister Rushton. “Conditions are extremely dry across the province, so we’re putting these restrictions in place to reduce the risk of additional fires.”

    Hiking, camping, fishing and the use of vehicles in the woods are not permitted. People can still access beaches and provincial and municipal parks, but trail systems are off limits. Camping is allowed only in campgrounds.

    The restrictions apply to Crown and private land. Private landowners are free to use their own properties but cannot host others to use wooded areas of their properties.

    Forestry, mining and any commercial activity on Crown land, are also restricted. People who conduct commercial activity on Crown land can apply for a permit at their local Department of Natural Resources and Renewables office.

    Forestry companies working on Crown land can only work between 8 p.m. and 10 a.m. All companies and private landowners are encouraged to take this approach.

    These restrictions are in place until June 25 or until conditions allow them to be lifted.

    Quick Facts:

    • Cape Chignecto, McNabs Island and Cape Split provincial parks are closed because they are backcountry camping/hiking parks

    • there are currently wildfires in Nova Scotia covering more than 12,360 hectares

    • there have been 195 wildfires to date this year; they have burned about 12,817 hectares

    • in 2022, there were 152 wildfires that burned about 3,390 hectares

    Additional Resources:

    More information and updates related to the wildfires is available at:

    Natural Resources and Renewables offices:


    30 May 2023 4:20 PM | Anonymous member (Administrator)

    Hello Members, 

    It has been a very tough few days in the woods of Nova Scotia and many are confused about announcements and exactly what they mean and for who. We at ATVANS have been requesting information to share with our members since the beginning of the fire outbreaks, and have received nothing officially.  

    I just heard media indicating that the Province of Nova Scotia has closed the woods to all activities including recreation and forestry. This obviously would include Off Highway Vehicles. I have no official release or additional information. 

    When we receive additional information, we will share it with our members and post it on our website under the news section. In the meantime, please take care and stay safe.  

    Thank you,

    Barry Barnet
    Executive Director

  • ATVANS Short-Term 30-Day Membership

Contact Us

As a member you have access to trails all over Cape Breton.

bottom of page